Addiction Help | Co-Addiction in Families

Question: What is a co-addict?
Dr. Gala’s Response:
Co-addicts are typically the family members that are involved with an addict. While the addictive behavior may be out of the family’s control, what they CAN control is their response to it.
The co-addict family member knows that the addiction is…

About Dr. Gala

I am an entrepreneur– consultant, broker, publisher and, formerly, accounting firm partner. And, I can’t help but bring the same entrepreneurial business mind to my work as a teacher, author and coach. In essence, the subject matter moves from business management to life management. Not too great a leap in my opinion. As I often say, “It’s the business of your life and you’re the CEO.” Most prefer to wait until it’s banging on the front door, sending official mail or calling in the middle of the night. It’s called change—the predictively inevitable chaos that can yank us in all directions or bow to our will. As a change facilitator, I ignite transformation in businesses, families, students, clients and, especially, within myself. I will always choose to blaze trails over camping out at the crossroads. I blame my appetite for knowledge, innovative instinct and fierce fortitude for driving me to pursue my reveries to fruition. But, I wouldn’t change a thing…these journeys have brought much success and satisfaction for myself along with the organizations and people I work with. In the late 1990’s, after leaving the accounting firm I co-founded, I was consulting and coaching to businesses while completing a Master’s Degree in Human Development. Inspired by my graduate studies, I authored articles and books on holistic methods for solving both personal and business difficulties. I gained popularity as a teacher, speaker and coach, by sharing the methods that had served me well over the years. One thing led to another and I completed my doctoral studies in 2004. As a student of Eastern and Western philosophy, I worked to infuse a blend of the best of both worlds into my businesses and life. And, I saw the potential to make blending the philosophies of the East and West much easier with the technology that was rapidly developing – what we know as the world wide web. The internet makes even the farthest corner of the world much more accessible. I simply could not let the dotcom era pass me by and established an online bookstore with a global community-a very innovative business model at the time. When my first book was in final editing, I began studying the publishing industry. I decided not only to self-publish my own work, but to offer publishing services for the works of like-minded authors as well. So, I established MetaComm Media, a publishing company that focuses on creating and distributing tools that teach timeless solutions to modern problems with an emphasis on social responsibility. Addiction is a global problem that affects millions of people. Just about everyone has been touched by addiction in some way…and we are not exceptions. That’s what fuels our passion for uncovering and developing holistic methods and tools that are quick, easy and, even fun, that effectively cure addiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment